ORBIT — A War Series

Brigitta Muntendorf

2023/24 Immersive Sounds Musik Digital Arts Kulturpass

HELLERAU presents “ORBIT – A War Series” by Brigitta Muntendorf, a work commissioned by La Biennale di Venezia 2023 and developed as a 3D audio project in cooperation with d&b audio and the Ukrainian start-up Respeecher.

In Muntendorf’s immersive space oratorio, disembodied voices encircle the audience with haunting testimonies of the wars and power struggles that have been waged against the female body for millennia. The use of sound synthesis, AI and deep-learning technologies for digital voice generation gives rise to immortal female warriors who simultaneously become posthuman ambassadors. The title “ORBIT – A War Series” is a reference to the New York artist Nancy Spero, who left a lasting artistic mark with her “War Series” (1966-70) not only at the Venice Biennale 2007, but also on the walls of the Nancy Spero Hall in the Festspielhaus Hellerau.

RollingStone magazine writes about the premiere in Venice: “Another highlight, again in the unusual clubbing-non-clubbing trend of this Biennale Musica: Brigitta Muntendorf’s work ORBIT – A War Series. A powerful textual exploration of the dramas of war, sadly more relevant today than ever before, and electronic music that is sometimes dancefloor-esque, sometimes floating, that you listen to sitting down, immersed in an alienating curtain of fog and with the sound diffusing circularly, not just frontally.”

Duration: ca. 1 h without a break

Download programme information and libretto here: PDF

In the work there are moments of loud music and the strong use of strobe light and fog machine. 

Brigitta Muntendorf was a guest at HELLERAU for the first time in 2012 with the Ensemble Garage, which she founded. In recent years, in addition to immersive installation works, she has primarily developed larger stage and ensemble productions for the Ruhrtriennale, Kyoto Experiment or the Bregenz Festival, among others. Her trilogy for two pianos and live electronics (Klavierduo GrauSchumacher) was awarded the German Record Critics’ Prize in 2023.


Composition, artistic direction: Brigitta Muntendorf
Dramaturgy: Mehdi Moradpour
Programming: Lukas Nowok
Lighting design: Begoña Garcia Navas
War Correspondent (Prologue): Christina Lamb
Voice clone: Lisa Aithnard, Arjopa Limburg, Nike-Mae-Lopez
Voice cloning Program: Respeecher 
Field Recordings: Alfred Wegener Institute / NOAA/PMEL (Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory)
d&b audiotechnik: Ralf Zuleeg, Banu Sahin

With the support of: Kunststiftung NRW and Goethe-Institut Commissioned by: La Biennale di Venezia with the support of Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung
Production: La Biennale di Venezia and ECHO Factory