White rose

The Dresden Music Festival as a guest at HELLERAU

At the centre of this programme is the fate of the resistance fighter Sophie Scholl, which will be reflected on this evening with musical as well as visual means. “The White Rose Trilogy” by the US-American David Chesky is a contemporary examination of the subject. In the second movement of the work, a reference to Arnold Schönberg’s composition “A Survivor from Warsaw” is made with the recitation of the names of the members of the White Rose. The photographer and violinist Barbara Luisi contributes another artistic component with her visual concept. The world premiere will be performed by the innovative US conductor Eric Jacobsen, the Dresden Symphony Orchestra, which is also known for its love of experimentation, and the Sächsisches Vocalensemble, which never fails to inspire.



Johann Sebastian Bach Motet “Fear not, I am with you” BWV 228

David Chesky “The White Rose Trilogy”

Dmitri Shostakovich Chamber Symphony op. 110 a
(based on the String Quartet No. 8 , arranged for string orchestra by Rudolf Barschai) 

Colin Jacobsen/Siamak Aghaei “Ascending Bird”


Saxon Vocal Ensemble
Dresden Symphony Orchestra
Barbara Luisi – Visual Artist and Musician
Luise Aschenbrenner –  Recitation
Marlen Bieber –  Mezzo-soprano
Eric Jacobsen – Conductor

Dresden Music Festival in cooperation with HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts and with the kind support of the Foundation Art and Music for Dresden