Sächsische Staatskapelle spielt Aribert Reimann

Porträtkonzert des Capell-Compositeurs

with kapelle21 - Musicians of the Saxon State Orchestra Dresden


Following the concert with Peter Eötvös in January 2019, the musicians of the Staatskapelle Dresden will again dedicate an extensive portrait concert in HELLERAU to the new Capell composer Aribert Reimann. Three composers of the 19th century will be at the centre of attention of Reimann’s chamber music: Schubert, Mendelssohn and Schumann have long been important for the work of the Berlin composer, who approaches their work in a subtle way. In this way, a less well-known facet of the great music dramatist and former song accompanist can be experienced.

Aribert Reimann was born in Berlin in 1936 to a family marked by music. He composed his first piano songs at the age of ten. After graduating from high school, he worked as a répétiteur and studied composition with Boris Blacher and Ernst Pepping, piano with Otto Rausch and musicology at the University of Vienna. From 1974 to 1983 he held a professorship at the Hamburg Musikhochschule with a focus on contemporary song. In 1983 he was appointed to the same position at the Berlin Hochschule der Künste.

Aribert Reimann’s affinity for the human voice is a strong impulse for his compositional work. Thus music theatre and song form the germ cells from which Reimann’s artistic work developed further. With important stage works such as his century opera “Lear” (1976-78), “Medea” (2007-09) and most recently “L’Invisible” (2011-17), he is one of the world’s leading opera composers. In addition to song compositions to texts by Paul Celan, James Joyce, Joseph von Eichendorff or Louise Labé, he has composed numerous chamber music pieces, solo concertos and orchestral works such as the two piano concertos (1961 and 1972), Sieben Fragmente für Orchester in memoriam Robert Schumann (1988), the Violin Concerto (1995/96) and the orchestral work “Zeit-Inseln” (2004).

The composer has received numerous honours and awards, including the Frankfurt Music Prize, the Grand Cross of Merit with Star of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize and the German Theatre Prize DER FAUST for his life’s work in 2018.


Solo für Viola
Stephan Pätzold

„oder soll es Tod bedeuten“
Carolina Ullrich
Robert Lis, Kay Mitzscherling, Holger Grohs, Friedwart Christian Dittmann

Streichquartette-Moll, Op. 44/2
Robert Lis, Kay Mitzscherling, Holger Grohs und Friedwart Christian Dittmann

Solo für Violoncello
Norbert Anger

Fantasiestücke für Klarinette, Flöte, Harfe und zwei Bratschen
Robert Oberaigner, Rozália Szábo, Johanna Schellenberger,  Marie – Annick  Caron,
Michael Horwath

Adagio für Streichquartett
Tibor Gyenge,  Lukas Stepp, Michael Horwath, Titus Maack

„Solo“ für Oboe
Céline Moinet

Nocturnos für Violoncello und Harfe
Johanna Schellenberger, Norbert Anger

Tibor Gyenge,  Lukas Stepp, Michael Horwath, Titus Maack

Metamorphosen für 10 Instrumente

Flöte (auch Piccolo): Bernhard Kury
Oboe: Volker Hanemann
Klarinette (B): Christian Dollfuß
Fagott: Thomas Eberhardt
Horn (F): Zoltán Mácsai
2 Violinen: Michael Schmid, Emanuel Held
Viola: Marie- Annick Caron
Violoncello: Titus Maack
Kontrabass: Martin Knauer