Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop und Musiker:innen des Niedersächsischen Staatsorchesters Hannover with Ben J. Riepe and Bára Gísladóttir

Musik 2022/23

What can a (new) beginning look like in the face of drastic upheavals, ecological challenges and the consequences of the pandemic? This is the question that the soloist ensemble Kaleidoskop and musicians of the Lower Saxony State Orchestra Hannover are addressing together with the director and choreographer Ben J. Riepe and the Icelandic composer Bára Gísladóttir. After the first joint project “Farewell” was based on Mahler’s 9th Symphony, another monument of orchestral literature is now the starting point for the new work “Beginning”. Ludwig van Beethoven’s 9th Symphony marked an artistic turning point in its time and today serves as the intellectual basis for examining current upheavals in the piece “Beginning”.

Duration: approx. 1 h 30 min.


Production, Choreography: Ben J. Riepe 

Composition: Bára Gísladóttír 

Musical direction: Richard Schwennicke 

Stage, costumes: Ben J. Riepe / Gwen Wieczorek 

Lighting: Fabian Grohmann 

Sound: Thomas Wegner 

Dramaturgy: Janine Blöß / Julia Huebner

Technical direction: Kristin Feldmann

Production management: Anna von Glasenapp / Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

Violin: Thomas Huppertz, Mari Sawada 

Viola: ldiko Ludwig, Yodfat Miron 

Violoncello: Isabelle Klemt, Michael Rauter 

Double bass: Fatima Agüero Vacas 

Flute: Siiri Niittyma  

Horn: Horst Schäfer 

Trumpet: Ulrike Arzet 

Trombone: Max Eisenhut 

Percussion: Tomi Emilov

Choreographic assistance: Victor Alfonso Zapata Cardenas 

Supported by the Doppelpass Fund of the 

In the framework of the project NEUN in cooperation of Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop with HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste and the Staatsoper Hannover.

Coproduction: AURA Dance Theatre